OC’s 2015-2016 Democratic Party Assembly District Delegates

Chicago 1968 Democratic Convention

Having sized up the people elected, I believe that a repeat of Chicago 1968 Democratic Convention is unlikely.

I’m not sure how Republicans choose their delegates to their State Party Conventions — and I’m not even sure whether Libertarian, Green, American Independent, Peace and Freedom do it — but in the Democratic Party we have elections in January of odd-numbered years and they just took place.  Here, for the benefit of anyone who might eventually be looking for them, are the seven women and seven men (unless not enough of one gender was running) representing each of the seven Congressional Districts located wholly or (in the case of AD-55) partly in Orange County, with one from each district going to the state party’s Executive Board.

I won’t characterize those elected (except to say that they vary in quality and to express pride in the group from my own AD-55 and admiration for those from AD-74).  One thing that does strike me is that in all six of the Districts wholly within Orange County, a male was elected to the State Party E-Board seat.  About 60% of the names of those elected from the six wholly OC districts are ones that I recognize as having been involved in DPOC or clubs or campaigns.  So whoever organized the other 40% to win their elections did so well.

55th Assembly District — La Habra, Brea, Yorba Linda and Placentia (shared with eastern San Gabriel Valley in LA County and Chino Hills in San Bernardino County):

Name Gender  
Brandy Carter Female
Sanobar Baig Female
Carole Levers Female Eboard Rep.
Ida MacMurray Female
Ellen Spicer Female
Glenda Bartell Female
Dena Anderson-Peoples Female
Steve Koffroth Male
James Gallagher Male
Douglas A Doner Male
Calvin Sung Male
William J Toensing Male
Donald Craig Male
Joe Bartell Male

65th Assembly District — Fullerton, Buena Park, La Palma, Cypress, Stanton, Western Anaheim (mostly S of I-5):

Name Gender  
John Vassiliades Male
Gregory Ferguson Male
Aaron Wodka Male
Josh Newman Male
Charles Loren Doll Male
Christopher Sanchez Male
Stephen Weissbart Male
Connor Traut Male Eboard Rep.
Arnel Dino Male
Rashad Al-Dabbagh Male
Jacqueline Mahrley Female
Claudia Perez Female
Mirvette Judeh Female
Pamela Thakur Female

68th Assembly District — Orange, Villa Park, Anaheim Hills, Tustin, North Tustin, Lake Forest, Northern Irvine, Northern Canyons:

Name Gender  
Dan Chmielewski Male
Gabriel Orea Male
David Sonneborn Male
Ted Perle Male
Michael Fox Male Eboard Rep.
Richard R. Licerio Male
Oscar Reyes Male
Edward Garza Male
Ken Wyant Male
Melahat Rafiei Female
Melissa Fox Female
Christina Avalos Female
Diane Singer Female
Samila Amamgraoupoor Female

69th Assembly District — Santa Ana, Central and Southern Anaheim, Eastern Garden Grove:

Name Gender
Valeria Amezcua Female
Sherry Caldwell Female
Norma Kurtz Female
Gail Anderson Female
Janelle McLoughlin Female
Teri Vaughn Female
Nelida Mendoza-Yanez Female
Mitchell Caldwell Male
Mark McLoughlin Male
Claudio Gallegos Male
Eric Anderson Male
Jason Mills Male
David Robert “D.R.” Heywood Male Eboard Rep.
Frank Barbaro Male

72nd Assembly District — Los Alamitos, Seal Beach, Westminster, Western Garden Grove, Fountain Valley, Northern Huntington Beach:

Name Gender
Raymond Cordova Male
Trung Ta Male EBoard Rep.
Philip Silverthorn Male
Javid Huseynov Male
Jamison Power Male
Bao Nguyen Male
Mark Sheldon Male
Jennifer Siegert Female
Michele Newman Female
Marti Sheldon Female
Karen Hinks Female
Lan Pham Female
Robyn Marcario Female
Michelle “Shelly” Haggerty Female

73rd Assembly District — South County from Southern Canyons, RSM, Mission Viejo, Laguna Hills, Aliso Viejo, Laguna Hills, Dana Point, and Southeast:

Name Gender
Steve Nelson Male
Ezequiel Barragan Male
Michael Getto Male
Steve Stewart Male
Michael Stone Male
Michael Weinell Male EBoard Rep.
John Weinell Male
Deborah Cunningham-Skurnik Female
Linda May Female
Minea Gracia Female
Rosemarie Allaire-Bosson Female
Debra Resnick Female
Carol Weinell Female
Fran Sdao Female

74th Assembly District — Southeastern Huntington Beach, Southern Irvine,Costa Mesa, Newport Beach, Laguna Woods, Laguna Beach:

Name Gender
Craig Beauchamp Female
Heide Krueger Female
Lizabeth McNabb Female
Jean Ardell Female
Farrah N. Khan Female
Kendall Vaught Female
Carolyn Inmon Female
Richard Armendariz Male
Peter (Kenneth) Kaltreider Male
Eric Bornstein Male
Ron Varasteh Male
Iyad Afalqa Male EBoard Rep.
Luis Aleman Male
Gary Bennett Male

Congratulations to the deserving winners!

About Greg Diamond

Somewhat verbose attorney, semi-retired due to disability, residing in northwest Brea. Occasionally runs for office against bad people who would otherwise go unopposed. Got 45% of the vote against Bob Huff for State Senate in 2012; Josh Newman then won the seat in 2016. In 2014 became the first attorney to challenge OCDA Tony Rackauckas since 2002; Todd Spitzer then won that seat in 2018. Every time he's run against some rotten incumbent, the *next* person to challenge them wins! He's OK with that. Corrupt party hacks hate him. He's OK with that too. He does advise some local campaigns informally and (so far) without compensation. (If that last bit changes, he will declare the interest.)