Orange Juice readers select the first “Rotten Orange” Award winners!

The results are in – and I must say I am very proud of our readers.  They voted in huge numbers in our very first “Rotten Orange” Awards, which included numerous categories, such as “the Worst Orange County Congressional Representative.”  That race drew the most votes, 199, and Republican nut job Dana Rohrabacher won in a squeaker, with 79 votes to 74 that were cast for the runner-up, Loretta Sanchez.  Dana’s fellow Republican, Ken Calvert, was a distant third with 17 votes.

Be sure to click the “read more” link below to see the rest of the inaugural class of “Rotten Orange” Award winners…including the “Most Hackish Partisan Blogger!”

Former Assemblywoman Mimi Walters just won a seat in the State Senate, where she will be replacing outgoing Republican Dick Ackerman.  And now she won again – she is the winner of the “Rotten Orange” Award for “Worst Orange County State Senator,” with 66 votes.  Her fellow Republican Bob Huff, who is replacing Bob Margett in the State Senate, was the runner-up with 45 votes.

Carona and Van Tran

Over in the State Assembly, the clear choice for a “Rotten Orange” Award was Republican Van Tran.  The runner-up was Red County blogger Chuck DeVore, who insanely announced recently that he is running for the U.S. Senate against Barbara Boxer.  Sure Chuck, good luck with that!  You’ll be the runner-up in that race too!

The race for “Worst Orange County Supervisor” was a tight one, but John Moorlach prevailed with 48 votes.  The runner-up, Chris Norby, had 45 votes, and Bill Campbell came in third with 44 votes.

Santa Ana Mayor Miguel Pulido

Now let’s switch to local politicians.  The race for “Worst Orange County Mayor” wasn’t close.  Santa Ana Mayor Miguel Pulido won in a landslide, just as he does in Santa Ana every two years, with 130 votes!  No other Mayor came close.  Pulido got over 70% of the vote!

But “Papi” Pulido wasn’t the only Santa Ana politico to win a “Rotten Orange” Award!  Santa Ana Councilwoman “Crazy” Claudia Alvarez ran away with the “Worst Central Orange County Local Politician” Award, with 79 votes.  Her fellow Council Member Carlos “Space Commander” Bustamante came in third with 41 votes.

Fullerton Councilman Shawn Nelson was the surprise winner of the “Worst North Orange County Local Politician” Award.  I really thought his fellow Council Member Dick Jones would win this one, but Nelson got 49 votes, while Jones got only 28 votes.

The “Worst South Orange County Local Politician” Award went to Irvine City Councilman Larry Agran, but his fellow Council Member Beth Krom was right behind him.  Together they merited 70% of the vote!  Their fellow Council Member Christina Shea came in third, making it a clean sweep for Irvine when it comes to “Rotten Oranges.”

The “Worst Orange County School Board Member” Award was also a bit of a surprise.  It went to new Rancho Santiago Community College District Trustee Mark McLoughlin.  I really expected SAUSD Trustees Rob Richardson and Jose Hernandez to vie for this award, but McLoughlin got 56 votes, which was more than the total votes netted by Hernandez and Richardson.

Last but not least, Liberal OC blogger Dan Chmielewski (who resembles Peter from “Family Guy – Dan’s real picture is below, for comparison’s sake) won the “Most Hackish Partisan Blogger” Award, with 50 votes.  Perhaps fittinginly, Red County blog editor Matt “Jubal” Cunningham was the runner-up with 49 votes.  These two guys are two sides of the same coin – one side is red, the other blue.  Our readers obviously fingered them for the partisan hacks that they are.

A big thank you to all our Orange Juice readers for taking the time to participate in our first “Rotten Orange” Awards!  We will be printing up nice certificates for all the winners and sending them to their offices via U.S. mail.

About Admin

"Admin" is just editors Vern Nelson, Greg Diamond, or Ryan Cantor sharing something that they mostly didn't write themselves, but think you should see. Before December 2010, "Admin" may have been former blog owner Art Pedroza.