County Clerk-Recorder candidate Hugh Nguyen announces more endorsements

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

[poll id=”147″]

“Former Chief Deputy Recorder Hugh Nguyen, announced today that State Senator Mimi Walters and former State Senator Marian Bergeson have endorsed his campaign for Orange County Clerk Recorder,” according to a press release distributed by Nguyen’s campaign consultant, Scott Hart.

When former State Senator Dick Ackerman announced that he was backing Nguyen, I figured he would round up his friends to back him as well.  Nguyen’s campaign is off to a roaring start.  His opponent, termed out Supervisor Chris Norby, doesn’t even have a website up yet!

“Norby is termed out of his current job on the Board of Supervisors. The current clerk-recorder, former Anaheim Mayor Tom Daly, is not restrained by term limits and could continue in the job. Conventional wisdom is that Daly will run for Norby’s seat. But Daly hasn’t officially announced his candidacy, and a strong field of announced candidates has already emerged, including Sidhu, Shawn Nelson and Rose Espinoza. Anaheim Councilwoman Lorri Galloway is also considering a bid,” according to the Total Buzz blog.

I expect that Daly will run for Norby’s seat.  He has wanted to be a County Supervisor for a very long time.  I don’t think he is afraid of Sidhu, and he already has Norby’s campaign consultant, John Lewis, on board.

Lewis is famous for, amongst other things, getting Mike Carona elected Sheriff even though he was a bailiff with no experience in actual law enforcement.  Now he wants to get Norby elected to the County Clerk-Recorder’s office even though he has zero experience in that office.  Lewis seems to like getting unqualified people elected to County offices.

Here are the endorsements that Nguyen has noted on his campaign website:

State Senate

Senator Dick Ackerman, Former Republican Leader (Ret.)

Senator Marian Bergeson (Ret.)

Senator Mimi Walters

Orange County

Former Chairwoman Cynthia P. Coad, Board of Supervisors, 4th District (Ret.)

City of Fullerton

Don Bankhead Mayor

City of La Habra

G. Steve Simonian Mayor Pro Tem

Tim Shaw Councilman

City of Santa Ana

Sal Tinajero Councilman

Michele Martinez Councilwoman

Special District

Max Madrid Juvenile Justice Commission

Title Industries

Felipe Heras – President – Document Processing Solutions

Marvin Cole – President – Civic Center Title Service Inc.

About Admin

"Admin" is just editors Vern Nelson, Greg Diamond, or Ryan Cantor sharing something that they mostly didn't write themselves, but think you should see. Before December 2010, "Admin" may have been former blog owner Art Pedroza.